Accidentally delete a site? Owners can now recover a deleted site in Google Sites
Released on 4/12/2011
We recently released the ability to recover a deleted site in Google Sites. If an owner of a site accidentally deletes a site, it will be immediately removed from view but they may recover it by visiting its URL within 30 days. Once 30 days have elapsed however, it will not be possible to recover the site under any circumstances and it will be permanently deleted.
Google Apps, Google Apps for Business, Government and Education
All languages supported by Google Sites
How to access what's new:
- In the ‘more actions’ dropdown menu, select ‘manage site’ to access the ‘Site settings’ section.
- In ‘Site settings’ > ‘General’, you can select ‘Delete this site’.
- You will now see a warning that you are about to delete the site and how to recover it within 30 days.
Note: This feature will apply only to sites deleted after the feature launched; Sites which have been/are deleted before this feature launched will not be recoverable.
*Rapid Release track: Domains with ‘Enable scheduled releases’ checkbox disabled in the administrator control panel. Learn more
Get these product update alerts by email
Subscribe to the RSS feed of these updates